Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 8, 2010, 8:49 AM   #1

Default Compact with super zoom wanted

Hi All,

I'm a very amauteur photographer who has owned a number of camera's before.

My very first digital camera back in 2004 was a Casio exilim model, it was great in terms of picture quality for point and shoot. I didn't have to alter the brightmess/sharpness etc. But the optical zoom (3X) wasn't good enough for me.

A few years later I bought he panasonic FZ8. This was my favourite in terms of image quality and zoom. The optical zoomed pictures were not 'grainy' when viewed on a computer. The camera also took some great indoor pictures without a flash - again these weren't 'grainy'. I took these photo's using either 'scn' or 'i'. The only problem with this camera was its size, it didn't fit into my pocket.

I then bought a panasonic FS5 to fit in my pocket. The zoom wasn't what I wanted and it gave rubbish indoor pictures (v dark and grainy) without a flash. I mainly used the 'i' setting but I really did not like this camera.

After those I bought the Fujifilm finepix S1500 because of the good zoom, but I hated how each picture looked cold' unless I selected 'chrome' which wasn't always an option on some of the settings.

Basically I'm looking for a camera that works as well as the FZ8 but which isn't bulky. My main criteria is a goodoptical zoom. I have looked at reviews of the panasonic TZ10 however and there seems to be an issue with grainy pictures at a high zoom or indoors. I know you can overcome this with certain techniques, but I am a point and shoot kinda photographer and I'm not interested in having to re-set settings (i.e sharpness/ISO etc) I would like the camera to be able to auto set these. I.E when I half depress the button, what I see on the screen is the photo I want to take.

I hope I'm making sense. If not it's probably due to the fact I am not a photographer, I just want a decent camera.