Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 11, 2010, 5:02 PM   #1

Default Casio H5, H15 or something completely different?

Hallo!

As I'm studying abroad at the moment, I have many occasions where I want to take a quick picture.
Unfortunatly, my Rollei XS-8 drives me crazy - photos are often blurred (yes, i understand how auto-focus works ;-) ) and the camera does really have problems choosing the right exposure time. Add a tendency to produce pictures with a white sky and a dark bottom on sunny days and you've got a camera that is hardly useable.

So I'm looking for something new. Because I thought the Rollei were able to take some tourist-like shots, i wasn't planning on buying a new camera yet, so my budget is a bit limited.

I can afford something up to 180 (which means 240-250$) but would prefer something arround 150 (200$). As you can easily guess by the currency I'm using, I'm living in europe (France and/or Germany) - so please keep in mind that prices here may differ from prices in the USA (normally, they are higher... )

I know that I will not get DSLR like image quality from a 150/200$ camera.
So I am looking for something with a good image quality in its class with a fast autofocus and nearly no shutter-lag.
I guess 14 MP will always cause a lot of noise, so i don't have a problem with a camera that offers "only" 10 MP.
I'm willing to sacrifice a little (but really only a little) image quality for speed as I know that compromisses are necessary at that price.
(I'm used to analogue cameras alot and hate finding a snapshot ruined just because of a slow digicam.)
I find it really convienient to have a lens that starts at values smaller than 30mm, that's more important to me than the question if a camera offers 10x or 12x zoom.
Welcome additions (which I don't really expect to find in this class) would be options to manually set exposure time, aperture or ISO settings.