Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 14, 2010, 3:30 PM   #1

Default First DSLR: Ti2 or something else?

edit: errrr I meant T2i

I am finally making the leap from my Canon a620 p&s to a DSLR with a budget of approximately $800-900. I have no experience with manual shooting but I am interested in learning. My wife has no interest in that at all and wants a camera that she can point & shoot with on auto. Her only demand is that it take great photos and last us a LONG time. It needs to be something that will last as I don't think I'll be "authorized" to make another camera purchase by the wife any time soon .

We have a 4.5 year old son who will be the subject of 90% of our shots. I know we need exceptional low light capabilities.I am thinking of adding a 55mm f/1.8 for low light shooting (thinking specifically about Christmas morning shots in a dimly lit living room). My wife does not want a Pentax because it doesn't have the name recognition for her. Also, please note that video is nice but by no means a necessity in our purchase.

I've done extensive reading here and elsewhere and I had it narrowed down to the T2i, T1i, Sony a550. We're looking to buy just after Thanksgiving. So, last night I found these deals:

1. T1i with the 18-55 kit lens plus 55-250 lens for $808. 55mm f/1.8 would add $99. Total cost approx $908.

2. T2i with the 18-55 kit lens for $849.99. 55mm f/1.8 would add $99. Total cost approx $950.

3. Sony a550 with 18-55 kit lens $599.99. 55mm f/1.8 would add $129. Total cost approx $730.

What do you all think? Do I go with the T2i and stretch my budget a little? Would I be just as happy with a T1i and an extra lens? Is the Sony a better move to stay within my budget? Or is there another camera within this range that I haven't considered yet?

Thanks very much for your advice.

Andy

Last edited by andysly5; Nov 14, 2010 at 3:31 PM. Reason: screwed up the title
andysly5 is offline   Reply With Quote