Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 17, 2010, 5:42 AM   #1

Default Canon T1i vs Nikon D3100

Hey guys,

I'm sure you get this a lot but I am new to the DSLR world and would like some help picking the best camera for me. I've done some research and had things narrowed down to either the Canon T1i/500d or the Nikon D5000 until the D3100 was released. Now im not sure.

Here's what I need:
- I do want video capabilities, but specs aren't that important. I am not too particular about having movie AF or the ability to attach an external mic. I just want to have the option. Photo abilities are obv. more important.
- I am just starting out so i'll develop a sense of what I generally like to take pictures of as I go along but for now its pretty much everything. Portraits, landscapes, indoor photographs, low-light and pics of hockey players etc... I understand my budget at this point probably wont allow for me to get lenses for each of these different conditions at the moment but for now, just something that would function as an all around decent lens would be good.
- I am planning on traveling. Weight isn't a huge issue. I have a P&S as well so if I need portability I will take that. But I might be looking to invest in a decent zoom lens so I don't have to pack a bunch of lenses while traveling.

I know most will say that the Nikon D3100 is a better pick because of the specs. But my budget will restrict me from being able to splurge on new lenses for quite a while so I am interested in the option of picking up some older, second-hand lenses. From what I've read, canon generally makes more affordable lenses and has more to choose from as well as the option of using lenses from other manufacturers.

At the same time I have also heard that the T1i does not perform well in low light conditions. This may be an issue down the road for me. Has anyone had any experience with this being a big issue?