Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 18, 2010, 3:39 PM   #1

Default Need some Advice on my first DSLR camera

I have always used PS cameras and I seem to buy one every year hoping the next will give me better pictures, but I am not getting those crisp photos I want. So I have decided for my next camera to get a DSLR.

Now what i don't know, is pretty much anything lol. I am a graphics designer so I am advanced in photoshop and have been able to edit some of my pictures to get great quality, but still not as good as I would like.

What I generally shoot pictuers of is animals, and family, and some landscapes. Mostly of Horses, and I do need action shots some of the time. But I am wanting something that will take excellent pictures now while I learn how to use the DSLR, so I guess image stabalizing is important for me. My budget is around $800 for the camera, I will add lenses and such later one, and I am ok with buying used in good condition.

I have looked at the Canon 20d and the Canon 40d but just don't know what camera would best meet my needs? Any suggestions?

Thank you so much for any advice, I am sure I will be posting here a lot for advice when I get my camera.
kfins is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2010, 4:31 PM   #2
Super Moderator

i would avoid going the used route. as you don't know what the camera has been through or how much longer it will last, plus if something breaks down, there is nothing you can do, you are just going to eat that money. plus the new entry level cameras are very good and come in at good prices.