Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 18, 2010, 11:19 PM   #1

Default Which p&s for Hd video and stills of my newborn?

Looking for best possible video quality and good to average stills ,Low light performance is a concern since most stills and videos will be indoors. Budget would be $350 but I get employee pricing on Sony, panny and samsung. Been looking at tx7,hx5v, and wx5. I'm a newbie looking for advice, thanks

Last edited by 2fast4u; Nov 19, 2010 at 8:16 AM. Reason: Yes he can use his thumbs 
2fast4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 19, 2010, 1:05 AM   #2

is your newborn able to use his thumbs enough yet to hold the camera?

anyway i just got the canon sx200 is for my wife, it arrived today and is amazing! it takes really good HD 720p and really awesome pics so far.........and from newegg i got it and a class 10 4gb SDHC card for $206.00 it may be slightly more for you, i got it on last fridays early black friday deal........ i saved almost 72 bucks......but my local target had the camera today while i was there for $179.99

Last edited by bryman; Nov 19, 2010 at 1:08 AM.
bryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 2:26 AM   #3

If low light is a concern, Panasonic LX5 or Samsung EX1 ... in keeping with the brands you specified. I don't think the EX1/TL500 does HD video (might be wrong) but the LX5 definitely does.
Old Nov 19, 2010, 3:09 AM   #4
Super Moderator

I also think a newborn is not really able to use a camera properly, even a P&S.

If they are extremely precocious you could try them at around 18 months. 3 years is probably a more reasonable starting age.

It's only if you are really worried about flash that the low-light issue becomes a problem. In my experience though, newborns don't mind flash at all, though the parents sometimes get all wound-up about it.

So any decent P&S camera would be fine.