Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 22, 2010, 12:05 AM   #1

Default Overwhelmed and need help!

Hi! I am a college student looking to get a new camera. I am looking for something that is compact yet still takes good quality photos. I will be using it at sporting events, hanging out with friends (day and night), traveling, on campus, etc. Some of the more important features that I would like are:

Compact/Travel Friendly
A good zoom
Decent low light
Image stabilization
HD Video

I do not have much experience in photography but I would like to be able to play around with some manual controls. Pricing needs to stay under $500, preferably under $400. Basically, I am looking for a great all around camera that will last me several years and will allow me to grow once I gain more experience. I don't have any idea of where to start looking and any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
aggieguy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 22, 2010, 2:45 AM   #2

Well, looks like you are needing compact superzoom!
ZS7/V-LUX20 or HX5V. This could be a nice article for you.
http://www.dpreview.com/news/1006/10...mgrouptest.asp
albi1215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2010, 3:55 AM   #3

Hi there,
I would suggest the Canon S95(3.5x zoom),SD4500(10x),SX210is(14x),SX130is(12x),Nikon S8100(10x), and the Panasonic TZ10(10x). These r prob the best P&S's around under $400.
Fayyaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2010, 4:52 PM   #4

Thanks for your suggestions! I have been looking at all of them and I think that I have narrowed it down to the Panasonic TZ10/ZS7 and the Canon SX210 IS but I think that Im leaning toward the ZS7. I still have a few questions though.

1. Which of these is best for low light conditions? I know that neither of them will be spectacular but I just would like to know which is best between the two.