Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 23, 2010, 11:58 PM   #1

Default dSLR choices from Nikon, Sony and Canon

I'm looking for a dSLR camera at the moment and I'm kinda stuck between what I should buy. I'm a beginner and I'm moving up from a Fuji S7000 bridge camera. The main purpose of the camera is to take pictures of my cars, friends at parties or get-togethers and also some landscapes in society.

What I want the most is that depth of field feature which only SLRs have where I can blur out the background or to focus on certain objects. I also like natural lighting from bounce flashes (Which I currently have for the S7000).

My budget is preferably $550 Australian dollars and backwards. I can stretch it just a bit if I need to, but obviously not too much.
So my choices have narrowed down to three brands which are Sony, Canon and Nikon.

The models from Sony which fit in my budget range is the A330 and the A290, From Nikon the D3000 and from Canon the EOS 1000D.
The Sony A290 and Nikon D3000 has no live view feature. The others have that feature. I'm not sure if I need this feature, but a lot of cameras have it these days.

So out these cameras, which one would be the best buy for me?

Thanks.
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 24, 2010, 12:07 AM   #2

They are all about the same, but with tight budget I would go with the canon. You will need a big aperture lens with and you can get the canon ef 50 1.8 for about 95 US dollars. Sony has a 50 1.8 for about 110 US dollars. Nikon has a 35mm 1.8 at 190 US dollars.

But with the canon you get a bit more feature. If you could I would move up to a canon 450D over the 1000D. The 450D has a much better sensor.
Old Nov 24, 2010, 3:21 AM   #3

Sony has a 35/1.8 for $175, a 50/1.8 for $125, and an 85/2.8 for $225.

Plus, they'll all be stabilized on a Sony body. The equivalent Canon lenses won't be.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote