Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 2, 2010, 1:21 PM   #1

Default Wanna help out a total newbie!!!! Xmas Present

Hi,
I need some help. BAD. To start, I know very little about cameras and terminalogy.

The wifey is looking for a camera that takes very quick pictures. One after the other. We always feel with the current and past point and shoots that we are missing shots. Now with a baby on the way we really want to avoid having this happen.

I have read that the DSLR's take fast photos but don't know too much about them. Do any of them have auto focusing? She isn't into photography enough to get involved with crazy lenses and such.

Are there any P&S cameras that are fast taking?

What about DSLR's?

I am going into this with an openmind and I am open to all suggestions. And not partial to one brand or model.

One person mentioned a Nikon p100, what I would like to hear what everyone has to say.

Just want a good solid camera that takes really fast pictures

Thanks!!!
bfan781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 3, 2010, 9:14 AM   #2

Nobody has any advice for me?
bfan781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2010, 4:21 PM   #3

The way I understand it, CCD sensors typically capture sharper images at the expense of speed and CMOS sensors typically capture images more rapidly at the expense of sharpness. A couple P&S cameras I'm aware of that have CMOS sensors and take very rapid pictures (up to 10 per second or so) are Sony's WX5 and HX5V. They have pretty fast processors and the WX5 has a larger aperture lens which would be better in low light (such as indoors with no flash).
nwtim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2010, 5:20 PM   #4

Have a look at the Fujifilm HS-10 or the Panasonic ZS-x series.
My Gallery

--
Hebrews 13:3
gjtoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2010, 6:17 PM   #5