Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 12, 2010, 4:08 PM   #1

Default P&S plus - Help

Hello, newbie here, I've had a number of older cameras over the years, but its time to come into the digital age for an older guy (wish I could move that well)!

I need some suggestions for a Pocket Type Camera that can double as an camcorder, have decent zoom capabilities, battery life and functionality. Probably too much to ask for in 1 camera, but I'm about to retire and travel and would like to be able to record our trips so we can share them with family. My wife's experiences with cameras is humorous, she's never been able to compose a picture - seems to cut off the heads, so if I let her take pictures, it has to be point/shoot accurate.

I think I could learn to use some of the manual features, but I'm probably not much better. We have very few (other than big box store(s) - none) camera shops in order to compare models, so would love some suggestions. I've looked at a Sony H55, a Lumix ZS5 (no HD out) and a Cannon SX200 IS, but again that was in store with the inability to look at pictures taken (lcd) simultaneously - they have them just far enough apart to prevent direct comparison !

I've tried to read up online, but that's confusing. I really would welcome some suggestions. I'm probably most likely taking travel type pictures, a few family shots, and occasional night/low light vignettes. I did like the Sony Panorama and one of the guys showed me how to turn it sideways (panorama mode), to get a real widescreen picture.

Thanks in advance.

Dave - Archivist
Archivist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 12, 2010, 5:57 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archivist View Post