Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 23, 2010, 11:00 PM   #1

Default Nikon d7000 vs. Canon 60d/T2i (550d)

I am about to purchase my first dslr. I've done my research and this forum has been very helpful. I'm a dslr novice, but I'm excited to learn and develop my skills. To date I've been a digital p&s user so this will be a huge quality jump for me (and a steep learning curve I'd imagine). My main uses: outdoor soccer and tennis games, family candids, portraits of my kids, and a bit of travel/landscape. At some point I'd imagine I'll be using it for indoor sports, but not yet. Will be using the video feature quite a lot as well, but will stay with my camcorder for the really heavy use.

I've learned enough to know that the lens may be as important as the camera itself, but I'd like your opinions on the camera to start with. Although I've read some good things about Pentax and Sony on this site, I've decided to go with one of the long-time, tried and true: Nikon or Canon. I initially decided on the Nikon d7000 after visiting two camera shops and doing a ton of online research, but I'm wavering on that decision. I worry a bit that I'd be "over-buying" and spending more money than I really have to for what I realistically need. Maybe the Canon T2i would be enough for my purposes.