Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 26, 2010, 7:05 AM   #1

Default Nikon D3100 vs. Canon 550D

Hey guys! I am gonna get my first DSLR. I have narrowed my choices down to the D3100 and the Rebel T2i. Which one of the two would you recommend?

Thanks
Kaushik
kaush666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2010, 7:15 AM   #2

What do you want to shoot?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2010, 7:22 AM   #3

I am an amateur photographer. I will mostly be shooting portraits and landscape.
Old Dec 26, 2010, 7:44 AM   #4

Portraiture usually takes advantage of large aperture lenses to isolate the subject from the background by using a shallow depth of field. While any lens can be used to shoot portraits of one sort or another, and while Canon and Nikon both have good selections of appropriate lenses, the number of lenses that will autofocus on the Nikon D3100 is lean.

In most other respects, the two are a lot alike for what you want to do.
Old Dec 27, 2010, 10:01 AM   #5

Hi and welcome if you haven't done so already then go and try both it may make your decision easier
wave01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2010, 11:11 AM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCav View Post
Portraiture usually takes advantage of large aperture lenses to isolate the subject from the background by using a shallow depth of field. While any lens can be used to shoot portraits of one sort or another, and while Canon and Nikon both have good selections of appropriate lenses, the number of lenses that will autofocus on the Nikon D3100 is lean.

In most other respects, the two are a lot alike for what you want to do.
Let me recommend a very nice web utility: http://dpanswers.com/roztr/lens_finder.php