Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 27, 2010, 7:28 PM   #1

Default Got a D3000 for Christmas - do I really want the D3100?

Hey guys,
So I'm totally brand new to the dSLR work (and a newbie to photography in general). For Christmas I got a D3000. I've been playing around with it, and starting to get the hang of it. BUT I've also been reading about how the D3100 is leaps and bounds better than the D3000. People constantly seem to be saying how it's out-of-date, etc. Honestly the $500 I spent on the D3000 is right about what I wanted/expected to spend on my first dSLR camera. $650 is a definite reach, but on the otherhand, it seems like that upgrade could make sense. I definitely don't want to spend more than that (so IF I decide to exchange, the D3100 is the highest I'll go).

From what I can tell, the major differences are the live view, and the 14mp instead of 10mp. In layman's terms, what else is different and why is that better?

Also - what would I potentially use the liveview for (I ask because the guy at the camera said the equivalent Rebel, which has liveview, really can't be used to frame photos as you would with a point-and-shoot).

The increase in megapixels - does that create better images regardless of image size? What size images does that difference start to show?

And the main question here: what would you do in my shoes? Love the D3000 and not worry about the unfavorable reviews, or make the upgrade?

Last edited by KevRC4130; Dec 27, 2010 at 7:31 PM.
KevRC4130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 27, 2010, 8:39 PM   #2

Keep the D3000 and put the extra money toward good lenses.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 9:24 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevRC4130 View Post
From what I can tell, the major differences are the live view, and the 14mp instead of 10mp. In layman's terms, what else is different and why is that better?