Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 11, 2011, 7:13 AM   #1

Default Looking at a possible Nikon dSLR...researching.

So...

For years and years I have been a Canon P&S user, then to the prosumer P&S in the Canon Powershot Pro1 then to the G9. When I offed the G9 about a year ago, I took the leap to a bigger sensor in the Pentax Kx, and recently I have acquired an entire stable of good Pentax lenses at a rock bottom price.

I am not a professional in any way, but in my eye I take above average photos and in the past year with my new acquisition I have taken at least my outdoor photography to new heights. With that being said I was interested in improving my indoor photography which led me to researching and buying new, faster lenses and higher grade flashes, which induced LBA and boom...I landed an entire lot of MINT lenses from eBay with a second Pentax body and enough equipment I can easily net $2,000+ dollars if I simply just divide and turn over my newly acquired inventory. Perhaps $2,000 is a little aspirational, but I can certaily turn a profit, stockpile my lenses, or get at least what my original intention was for free.

This brings me to my new dilemma, which is the root of my problem when it comes to anything cool and electronic. The grass is always greener, and I want the next best thing. Now, I try to stay slightly behind the curve on most in order to save money and I have known to be an earlier adopter from time to time, but I am more concerned about value and best bang for your buck. With that being said in conjunction with recent articles I have been reading about the D7000 and Nikon's plethora of great quality lenses and affordable consumer lens options I am considering jumping ship. It is not that I am displeased with my Pentax Kx, or the quality of my photos. The driver is more due to options and affordable options at that.