Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 13, 2011, 7:52 PM   #1

Default Simple to use but with top-end glass

Hi all. This post may be a bit long but I'm at my wits' end trying to find the correct solution to a complex camera question.

Background: I shot for 25+ years on film with a Nikon F2, an FM2 for backup and pretty-good AI-S glass. My results were reliable, sharp and more or less exposed well. I'm not a pro but have an OK eye. In 2005 my gear was stolen and I took the jump into the DSLR world with a D200. I haven't taken a good picture since.

There is simply too much to learn. I'm older, I have ham-hocks for hands, I need strong reading-glasses but have perfect far-vision. In my older gear I had a great needle exposure meter that worked for me. Put the needle in the middle and press the button. Voila. I don't wear my glasses when I'm out shooting so having 2000 pieces of miniscule information in the viewfinder is pointless.

I don't know how to use 99% of the gadgets and doodads on the D200, nor do I wish to learn them. I read the books and sometimes I think I "get it," but since I only use the camera 2 or 3 times a year, by the time I need to to take a quick picture, I've forgotten it all .

This year I'm going to Europe for what will probably be the last time in my life. I want to explore some great French villages, Swiss mountain towns and do some fun stuff in Germany. I do NOT want to spend all my spare time memorizing esoteric features and taking pictures of test-patterns just to take holiday snaps.

I don't mind spending money if the results will be razor-sharp images, but I am unable to achieve this result on my D200 with either the 18-200 or 12-24 lenses that I spent a freakin' fortune on 6 years ago. My wife's pocket camera takes sharper pictures for heaven's sake!