Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 28, 2011, 9:33 PM   #1

Default Looking To Upgrade From My Panasonic FZ30

I am looking for some advice on what to buy.

I take pictures for software applications, these tend to be subjects like cars, aircraft, scenes and such.

I have a Panasonic FZ30 which I bought for a safari holiday a few years ago, its ok but too slow - if I try to take a moving image I will always miss the shot.

I am thinking to upgrade to a DSLR, I need live view with a tilting LCD and a good zoom as I often have to take 'covert' images.

After looking around I like the look of the Canon 60D, large images that I can crop, big selection of lenses, not too expensive.

I figured I could get the kit 18-55mm lens and the 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS lens or MAYBE the 70-200mm f/2.8 - pricey but could be worth it if it can get me good low light/night images.

Any other cameras I should consider? Cost is a secondary factor, I'm not an expert shooter by any means but I would like to take things further and could earn a bit more with my images with a some good kit.
daclick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2011, 10:29 PM   #2

with the tilt and with the lens selection you want, not really. Canon might be coming out with a less expensive tilt that will be the top rebel, the t3i in april. But if you want something sooner then May the Sony A580 or A560 will have a tilt, but will not have the lens selection of the canon. And the tilt is not as well design as the panasonic inspired one canon uses.
Old Jan 29, 2011, 3:30 PM   #3

G'day daclick

You say that "I take pictures for software applications, these tend to be subjects like cars, aircraft, scenes and such." and "I often have to take 'covert' images."

There is almost universal consensus that the kit lenses will not go the distance when it somes to both mechanical reliability & also lens performance in low light