Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 3, 2011, 10:30 AM   #1

Default Canon SX30IS Or Panasonic FZ100

Hi i am looking at both of these cameras for taking pictures of birds and other animals. I realize that a DSLR would be better but i have had a few dslr's and to be honest because i don't print photos i just view them on my computer and also because buying lots of lenses is expensive and i hated lugging around lots of kit then i don't really want to go back to a dslr.

Which of these do you think would be better its very confusing lol i am still a amateur :S, I can't decide if its better to have the longer optical zoom of the canon and faster shutter speed or the faster focusing and shooting panasonic.
Smg-UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 3, 2011, 10:45 AM   #2
Super Moderator

In a lot of ways it is tough but when it comes to wildlife I would say go Panasonic due to the faster continuous shooting speed. If you need the extra reach then many people have successfully added teleconverters that seem to do a good job. I would pop to the Panasonic section where you can see what they've managed to capture.
Old Feb 3, 2011, 10:50 AM   #3
Super Moderator

Forgot to say, here is a review worth looking at.

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/re...shootout.shtml

I would actually consider the FZ40 in the mix as well but do as the Pany guys what they have experienced as I'm a dSLR user so only giving 2nd hand info.
Old Feb 3, 2011, 12:02 PM   #4

Here's a couple comparisions...but you can go to the Panasonic Leica P&S Forum and just Search for SX30...you will get a huge amount of hits with sample photos come up from FZ40 to FZ100 to SX30...
http://forums.steves-digicams.com/pa...0-vs-sx30.html
http://forums.steves-digicams.com/pa...l-samples.html
LTZ470 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 12:03 PM   #5

Thanks for the reply's very helpful
Old Feb 3, 2011, 12:04 PM   #6

Smg-