Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 14, 2011, 12:42 PM   #1

Default newbie stuck between fz-100 vs hs20

hi,

always been a photography enthusiast.. biker and hifi head..

now its time when i have decided to take my hobby come real and lay my
hands over a good camera..

i have been reviweing many cameras and this forum for many months and
now torn between choices to go for fz-100 or wait for hs20..

i also considered entry level dslr.. nikon 3100.. however i want to move to
that level probably in 2014.. till than want to use a superzoom p&s to its capacity.

HI FROM INDIA.....and hats off to this wonderful forum. i am an active member of many audio video forum as i stated my interest.. this is the first time for a photography forum . looking forward for a stronger bond in the coming time..

plz suggest... price not much an issue however still looking something say 500$ or less..
theironhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 15, 2011, 2:32 AM   #2

I haven't seen any samples from the HS20 even but historically, Panasonic keeps putting out better bridge cams than Fuji. I have the FZ40 and am happy with it, but it's a different type of camera than you are looking at (CCD sensor vs CMOS and all the related pros and cons.).
Old Feb 15, 2011, 6:17 AM   #3

but both the fz-100 and hs-20 arewith cmos ane is apc-cmos.. other is exr...

but i am not sure if the exr cmos that is crammed with 16mp will do anty justice on hs20..

however its like 14mp on fz100

also true resolution of fz-100 comes to 9.8 and for hs-20 will come to 10.6-10.8.. i guess...

also another doubt is that i came to knew that the manual focus ring works with a wire and it is not mechanical it just adjusts through a wire and digital setup..

if thats the case and then whats the point of having manual focus...

however hs-20 still tops my list followed by fz-100 and then hs-10 and then sx30is..

plz advise..