Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 14, 2011, 4:01 PM   #1

Default New to DSLR's - Confused, please help me decide - D3100 vs Canon Vs. Sony?

Hello All,

I am new to DSLR's but think that I am ready to make the jump from point and shoot to Digitial SLR. I will primarily be taking pictures of our new arrival, our one month old son. I would eventually like to take landscape / scenery picutures as well. I guess I'm looking for an all purpose beginner DSLR.

I did some research and thought that the Nikon D3100 was a good beginner camera for me, but after visiting some local stores, I've been advised to move up the chain and buy something that has more features that I won't "outgrow". Of course more features mean more expensive as well!!! I guess they were just trying to sell me their camera's. I only went to the local stores to get a feel and play with the camera's, I'll be buying the camera online for sure. After holding the cameras helped me decide that I prefer DSLRs over the new 4/3rds and the other NEX Sony camera.

Initially, I wanted to stay in the $600-ish budget, and that's still possible if I go with the Nikon D3100 or wait for the Canon Rebel T3 that's due out next month or a comperable Sony, I think the A33? I'm not sure why the upcoming T3 will be priced the same as the D3100?

Since I'd prefer to not spend $900 on a mid entry level camera kit with more features, what is the "best" $600ish camera kit? I'm still leaning towards the D3100 kit. Should I take the plunge and go with the D3100 or wait for the T3 next month?

Thanks in advance and sorry for writing a book,
Kill@B3E is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 14, 2011, 8:10 PM   #2