Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 22, 2011, 8:47 AM   #1

Default Depth of field

Hi,

I am a student hence a little squeezed on budget.

The thing is that I live in Pakistan and we have Nikon, Canon and Sony here. I have checked their PnS's (P100 and HX1), they didn't have the juice.

I can get cameras from the US easy, loads of relatives. Now I don't have the liberty of testing a FZ40 since panasonic doesn't give cameras here.

Can anyone please tell me if I can get an 'almost' DSLR like narrow DOF on a Panasonic FZ40 and that if i can control its aperture in wide mode (zoomed OUT)?
xHassan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2011, 11:09 AM   #2

No compact camera with small 1/2.3" or 1/2.5" sensor and minimal aperture around F3 or F4 at the portrait focal length (80-100 mm) can get anywhere close to the DSLR narrow depth of field.
You have to go to many hundreds mm focal legnth to get better separation (breaking perspective though).

Just for comparison, new Olympus XZ-1 sports 1/1.6" chip, F2.5 at 112 mm and it's DOP is similar to DOP of APS-C DSLR with kit lens (~F5 at 85 mm).
xperimental is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 12:04 PM   #3

To answer the 2dn question, yes, the FZ40 has an aperture priority mode.
Old Feb 22, 2011, 1:21 PM   #4

There are three factors associated with the camera that will give your images a shallow depth of field:
  • Focal length - Longer is better
  • Aperture - Larger (numerically smaller) is better
  • Image Sensor Size - Larger is better
But you can always capitalize on the depth of field you've got by maximizing the distance between the subject and the background.

Last edited by TCav; Feb 22, 2011 at 1:23 PM.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 3:25 PM   #5

G'day Hassan

the answer is 'yes' if you know how/what you are doing