Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 21, 2011, 10:48 PM   #1

Default Canon sx130is and the Panasonic ZS7- Accuracy

This is my first time posting here. Iím doing so as my situation seems a bit different from other posts Iíve read on the same topic.

Iím an architect. I need a camera to take photos of ďexisting conditionsĒ, aka the way things are. I will probably not use it for travel (I tend to take a single-use point and shoot). Photos of people are also not a priority. Itís for buildings, rooms, things. I want to decide between the Canon sx130is and the Panasonic ZS7. I like the zoom on each. Iím not interested in the video or in creative options. Enlargements are also not important.

I donít know much about photography, but reading many posts, I realize I will have to learn. Apologies if my questions seem redundant; I am trying to make myself understood as to what I need in a camera.
My Questions:

1. Which has more accurate color for outdoor photos? [Outdoor is probably more important than indoor] Which settings do you recommend?

2. Which has more accurate color for indoor photos? Which settings do you recommend?

Re: Color Accuracy: descriptions I have read speak of ďacceptableĒ, ďstrongĒ, ďvividĒ color. I donít know if this includes color accuracy. (I donít need strong, etc...I need accurate.) And side by side descriptions do not use the same words in comparing the two.

3. Which has less pincushioning/ aberration? Which settings do you recommend?

4. Which is better in low light conditions?

5. Which is better in no light conditions? (I sometimes need to take a photo of the underside of a roof, in an attic with no light. From what Iíve read, the Canon seems to have the more powerful flash; is that correct?)

I know neither camera would be best in all the qualities I am seeking, but knowing which is best for which function would help me choose. I thank you in advance for all your help to this novice.
Sol