Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 27, 2011, 4:34 AM   #1

Default Want to start shooting film.

Ok, I have decided to just keep my nikon d50 because everyone is telling me not to switch to canon and when I calculated it all up it's going to cost tons of money in the long run.

I am just going to sell my video camera and get a better video camera. What I have been thinking about for a long time now is buying a 35mm film camera and start shooting that on occasions. The images they produce are very nice in my opinion.

Seeing as I am a photographer (obviously) I would look to explore all of it and not just limit myself to digital. I am just wondering, what is a good "NIKON" film camera? Cheap but good. I hear the old Nikon FE is good? I would like to buy an old 50mm for it also. That is probably the only lens I want for it for now.
Nikon 50mm f1.8
Nikon SB24 Speedlight
Lowepro Slingshot 200AW
NoFlashPhotography is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 27, 2011, 4:42 AM   #2
Super Moderator

if you want to go full manual focus etc. then there are several choices in that "F" series from nikon. FM/FM2, FE/FE2, FA. Any of these would be a good choice.

If you want autofocus, something like the Nikon 8008s can be had for cheap these days.
Old Mar 27, 2011, 4:56 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hards80 View Post
if you want to go full manual focus etc. then there are several choices in that "F" series from nikon. FM/FM2, FE/FE2, FA. Any of these would be a good choice.

If you want autofocus, something like the Nikon 8008s can be had for cheap these days.
Well I am thinking manual focus would be even more old school but since it's film they could turn out really bad.
Nikon 50mm f1.8
Nikon SB24 Speedlight
Lowepro Slingshot 200AW
Old Mar 29, 2011, 5:22 PM   #4