Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 9, 2011, 4:54 PM   #1

Default XZ-1 Taking the plunge. Noob & Firmware questions

I'm a noob and i've bought cameras before and never been happy with the feel or quality of the photos.

Xz-1 photos really do it for me so i'm going to take the plunge... I have some questions though...

I will buy my camera locally to get a warranty but I need some advice on...

1. Are olympus likely (bast on prior knowledge) to release firmware to allow added features like in camera noise reduction?

2. Are olympus likely to release firmware for the autofocus issue with video?
so one is a question of firmware to add new functionality, the other is firmware to fix an obvious problem.

3. I will need to buy extra batteries, memory card & charger. I was reading on here that wasabi are very good and this is a link at bottom of post) to it but they are sold out... does anyone know where i can purchase? I'm in Australia but happy to pay shipping.

4. Which memory card should i buy and where from? I'm thinking the same site due to shipping etc ...

5. finally, if a get a chance in store to use the xz-1, what settings should i use to get a quality shot. it'll be in a fluro lit shop. I can get the WB correct but i would like some help with the other settings from someone with an XZ-1..

http://www.bluenook.com/Wasabi-Power...Rank=salesrank
sleeprequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2011, 5:37 PM   #2

well if oly does release a firmware for the xz-1 it will most likely to fix flaws or issues, so if there is a AF issue with video they may issues one. No brands have really release firmware to add features.

Battery and extra cards are always a good idea, as video drains compact batteries and fill cards quickly.

Transcend, Lexar, Sandisk, delkin, panasonic and kingston are all good cards. Any of them in class 6 or better will work fine with the xz1.