Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 14, 2011, 5:55 AM   #1

Default Camera purchase help.

I'm new to digital cameras and with asking for assistance from stores they always point you to the most expensive camera or something with the highest MP or optical zoom or this or that, and that doesn't do anything except turn me away. I talked to a friend briefly and he told me that none of this matters, so I'm completely stumped.

Price Range: Nothing over 220
Primary Use: Taking pictures of scorpions & snakes.
Secondary Use: Vacation in London(July)
Options: I would prefer a rechargeable battery, faster picture speed, easy to use.

I'm just interested in purchasing a camera and not planning on doing any lenses and sensors or what not because I would rather not get into all of the technical things. I will post a few pictures of some of the other people that have taken pictures and how they've came out so maybe it will help with the suggestions. I've tried to list everything I can possibly think but I may of forgotten something, so please if you need to ask anything to help me choose what digital camera will fit me the best please post as I've set it to automatically notify me.

Ecstasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 14, 2011, 2:54 PM   #2

Based on the photos, all I can really tell is that you need a camera with a good macro mode. In terms of compacts, I think Panasonic most consistently offers a good macro mode on their various cameras. The ZS7 was around the $200 mark but may have gone up since it is now discontinued and supplies are dwindling. You didn't make any mention of whether or not you would be shooting in low light, but I guess that's irrelevant anyway due to your budget constraints.

I'm not sure about the respective macro modes, but the Canon SX130 and current A-series model are good cams for the money overall.
Old Apr 14, 2011, 3:29 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiveO View Post