Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 4, 2011, 3:43 PM   #1

Default Looking to upgrade my sony dslr

I am looking into upgrading my Sony DSLR a380 and have some questions.

First, I love my a380! I have about 6 lenses to go with it and have taken over 3000 photos thus far.

Now, I want to upgrade to another Sony but need assistance on choosing. The a380 is an awesome camera, but I am in need of a camera that will take better low light action shots with a telephoto. My daughters are on their school dance team and I am unable to get decent photos with my a380 when using my Sony 18-250 lense. I am looking at either the SLT a55 or the SLR a580. I would love to get the a850, but out of my budget, if I want to get a 70-300 or 70-400 lense (for football season).

So, anyone out there have any advise for me? I am not a professional, even though I would love to be one. Still learning and hopefully one day I can call my self a professional. :-)

Thank you in advance for you input!
Talitha
Mom of 4 who loves taking photos of her kids and their friends.
talitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 4, 2011, 3:51 PM   #2
Administrator

The A580 is probably your best bet as an upgrade path for better low light performance. It will have lower noise levels at higher ISO speeds when compared to other Sony models.

But, if you're talking about dance photos in low light (at night under the lights, or on a stage indoors), then none of the 70-300mm or 70-400mm lenses are very good for that purpose, as they're really not very bright and are better suited for good light shooting outdoors in daylight.

You'll want a brighter lens with wider available apertures (smaller f/stop numbers) to help freeze movement in lower light.. For example, a 70-200mm f/2.8 (provided you can get close enough to use one), since it can maintain f/2.8 throughout it's zoom range.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2011, 5:19 PM   #3