Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 8, 2011, 1:49 PM   #1

Default Panasonic LX5 or Canon G11

Recently I have started to thinking about getting a new camera, since I don't have a decent camera(Sony DSC-p73) to take a capture.

I was thinking of getting a DSLR(eg Canon 500D), for my everyday use but they are too big for me, plus I am total noob for photography.

So I decided to take a P&S camera, and I am currently having a great opportunity to get one. For a some amount of money (350) i can get either a Panasonic LX5 or Canon G11!

I prefer Canon, I believe it can deliver better shots, but it is maybe to big for me, since I plan to wear my camera in a pocket/car. Zooming option is important to me, so i can bypass that, but can LX5 produce as good as G11 shots?
Benko's Full & Prime

Benko's Ultra Lite and Clean ROM
Intel Core 2 [email protected] | 2x SSD OCZ Vertex | 4GB @1100MHz RAM & ATi 6870 1GB OC'ed
benko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2011, 10:33 PM   #2

Don't know about the Panasonic, but I do have a Canon G12...one model newer than the G11. I'm happy with the G 12...it's no DSLR, but for a small camera it's versatile, takes very good pictures....I really like it.
lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2011, 2:33 AM   #3

I don't know what you mean by "it can deliver better shots." Canon's OOC JPEGs are better than Panasonic's in terms of color reproduction and handling of noise. That said, the LX5 is an excellent camera and has a brighter lens, and thus will do better in low light. It will give you better video as well and the build quality is a little better imho (not to say build quality on the G series is at all bad though). Despite all of that, I would personally get the Canon because Sony's sensors are less noisy than Panasonic's, Canon handles noise better imho, and I prefer Canon's color in most instances.
Old May 9, 2011, 4:50 AM   #4