Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 9, 2011, 1:44 PM   #1

Default Pentax K-R or Canon T1i

I currently own a Samsung GX-1S DSLR which I understand is a Pentax *ist DS2 clone. I have had it for the past 4 or 5 years and, for my needs, it seems to work pretty well. I would like to upgrade though. I was going to buy the Pentax K-R ($650) but I noticed that the Canon EOS Rebel T1i is on sale ($400). Which is the better buy and why? Thanks for any input, I am a novice when it comes to cameras. Oh yeah, besides the lens the Samsung came with I do have one 70mm - 300mm lens which fits the Pentax.
texasdant is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2011, 2:29 PM   #2

If you do not want to get a new 70-300 lens, and happy with your current lenses. The pentax k-r is a good camera. The T1i has the better AF, but the pentax has the cleaner iso at 3200 and 6400.

The canon ef 70-300 IS USM is 450 dollars.

The canon lenses with USM focus much faster then the pentax lens. Even the sdm lenses, which are faster then their dc motor lenses.
Old May 9, 2011, 4:03 PM   #3

Buying the KR would save you the money for replacing the lenses. When you say you want to "upgrade" - what is the limitation you find with your current DS/GX-1S?
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2011, 5:34 PM   #4

shoturtle - I will keep the lenses in consideration when I make my final decision. I think I'll make a list of lenses I would like to have and add the prices up for both. Thanks.
Old May 9, 2011, 5:41 PM   #5