Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 10, 2011, 11:05 AM   #1

Default Have a promaster lens, which camera to buy?

I have a Vivitar Promaster 7 zoom lens on an old 35mm camera , would love to take the lens and use it on digital camera. Any suggestions as to what camera would be a good starter or... Thanks in advance. By the way, love this forum, I've already learned so much.

Sid
cowichansid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 11, 2011, 9:40 AM   #2

What mount does it have? There's a number of different mount types and Vivitar made lenses for pretty much all of them at one time or another. Depending on what type of mount the lens has, you may or may not be able to use it on a digital camera.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 9:53 AM   #3

How do I figure that out? It's on a Pentax K1000, a camera which has been a totally awesome camera, but... With the price of developing, etc., it made more sense to get a digital. I have to 'screw' it on, by which I mean I seat the lens on the camera and turn it a little til it clicks in. Thanks for helping me to know what kinds of questions to ask.
Old May 13, 2011, 1:49 PM   #4

I may be wrong, but it seems logical to me that a Pentax DSLR such as a K-x would be able to use that lens. However, if you do buy a K-x, get it with the kit lens. It costs very little more than the body only.

You might want to contact Pentax reps to see what they say.

http://www.pentaximaging.com/support/live-chat/
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 10:51 PM   #5