Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 8, 2011, 1:56 PM   #1

Default Struggling on what camera to buy...

I need to retire my fugi s602 finepix camera. I am NOT a professional, however I am advanced on taking photos without using the auto mode.. I like a zoom, I know nothing about lens', so I was thinking on a camera with a zoom installed.. I want a camera that takes 'Great' crisp pictures... I am an outdoors person, who stumbles apon deer, turkey, etc. can't always get close to wild animals...My son plays baseball and I like to take shots of him... Please any suggestions will be greatful... Was looking at...
*Nikon D3100 14.2MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR Nikkor Zoom Lens....
*Canon PowerShot SX30 IS super-zoom....
*Canon EOS Rebel T1i 15.1 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with 3-Inch LCD and EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens
Thanks so much!
denified is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 9, 2011, 3:34 PM   #2

Your list is one fixed lens camera and two dSLR cameras. The two dSLR cameras only have the basic "kit" lens included, which only goes to 55 mm. You want to take pictures of wildlife and a son who plays baseball - both of which require a long telephoto lens, something much longer than 55 mm (while anyone I know who shoots wildlife always wants something longer than what they own, with a dSLR you'd most likely want something that reaches 300 mm). I would either add a long telephoto zoom lens to your camera list, or remove the two dSLR cameras (the Nikon D3100 and Canon T1i).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2011, 6:12 PM   #3

G'day denified

Welcome to the Forum
You say that your current camera is the Fuji S602 .... a good camera in its day
Looking up its specs, it has a 6x zoom lens going from 35mm to 210mm [in 35mm film camera equivalent terms]

You also say, quote-
I like a zoom,
I know nothing about lens', so I was thinking on a camera with a zoom installed..