Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 25, 2011, 1:06 PM   #1

Default Help Buying DSLR Camera

Hello there,

I'm completely new to this and really have no idea what to look for. A friend of mine who takes a lot of pictures told me to look at some Canon EOS Rebel XS and the like. I've been wading thru tons of cameras and don't really know the difference. Canon XS, XT, t2, t2i, etc etc...

What I will use the camera for:

General pics (family, kids, outdoors)
Sports (my son plays baseball and my daughter is soon to be in gymnastics)
Family photos - I'd like to take family photos rather than pay someone else

edit: I'd like to spend around $300 for camera and lens (I'm ok with buying used from craigslist or ebay)

Any help is appreciated!!

Thanks.
cware31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 25, 2011, 2:46 PM   #2

http://austin.craigslist.org/pho/2462001197.html

Does this look like a good deal? A good camera for what I need?

Thanks!
Old Jun 25, 2011, 2:52 PM   #3

For what you stated you want to shoot, your best option is a t2i or t1i and you will need a fast last. That will not be cheap as sport shooting is very demanding equipment. So if sports is something you are seriously wanting to shoot, you need to really raise your budget. Even with used or refreb, you indoor sports will need at least 400 dollar lens like the canon 85 1.8 and for your outdoor sports, like baseball you will need a long zoom, something like the 70-300 at a min. That will set you back another 400-450 on the used or refreb market.

You are looking at a min 900 dollars in lenses to get start. The body, the T2i or T1i would give you a much better AF system they the Xt or Xti bodies or the XS. And for you indoors you will need 3200iso at times, so the XSi will be limited at 1600iso, while the T bodies can all shoot ok at 3200iso.
Old Jun 25, 2011, 3:01 PM   #4

Thanks a bunch for your reply. It's amazing how complicated this can get