Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 8, 2011, 11:20 AM   #1

Default DSLR Camera for nadir Aerial Imagery

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to the camera world, but I've been researching cameras for a while now and thought I would post a question to get some feedback. I'm looking for a camera (and lens) for a very specific task. I want to take nadir (straight down) pictures from around 200-400 feet above the ground, obviously outdoors. I want the sharpest, highest resolution picture possible with the largest field of view and the least amount of distortion (if any). After much research, I am leaning towards some kind of Canon DSLR and either a Rebel T2i, 60D, or a 7D. I really want the biggest sensor I can afford, but I can't afford a Full Frame sensor at this time. I don't care about all of the extra features the camera has, I just want to shoot in manual mode with a fixed focal length lens. I will only be playing with the shutter speed, f/stop, and a few other settings depending on the time of year. All of my pictures will be taken with a similar sun angle so once I get the settings right, there won't be much to change.

Any and all suggestions and/or input is appreciated. I will probably post a question in the Canon Lens forum to get better feedback on what type of lens to choose.

Thanks to all in advance!
-Steve
cczeets is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 8, 2011, 12:24 PM   #2
Administrator

Well... all 3 of those models (T2i, 60D, 7D) are using a Canon 18MP APS-C Size Sensor. So, I doubt you'd see much difference in image quality between them for still photos (since I'd assume that things like AF speed and tracking, burst mode, etc., are not really an issue for that kind of shooting).

I think I'd probably lean towards the 60D since it's the only one of those three models with an articulating LCD, which might come in handy if you want to try using Live View for some of your photography.