Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 13, 2011, 6:16 AM   #1

Default What lenses for 60D?

Hey Guys,

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to photography, but I thought the time was right for me to upgrade to an SLR and I have selected the 60D as my main choice.

Now the hard decision is what lens/es to get with it.
My mate has convinced me that I should get a 50mm lens with it to start, but I'm thinking I may want something with an 18mm reach as well, to do more close up shots.

I was thinking maybe the Canon 18-135 would be a good choice, because I want a bit of telephoto going on as well, but I've heard they aren't the best quality lens, especially for close up shots.

Budget wise I'm not 100% sure what to go with, but I can get the body for about $900 Australian, and a 50mm for about $85 Australian. So probably only looking at around $200-300 extra for another lens.

Let me know what you think,

Cheers, James
JamesMoriarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 13, 2011, 8:07 AM   #2

31 views and no replies, devastated guys :'(

:P
JamesMoriarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 8:09 AM   #3

First, "Wide Angle" does not equal "Close Up".

Second, it's generally better to select the lens(es) you want, and then pick a body that it (they) will fit. It seems you've come at it from the other direction.

A dSLR is a system, and the body is just a common accessory to which you attach your lenses, et al. It won't take long for you to spend more, often much more, on lenses and accessories than on a body, so selecting the appropriate system is more important than selecting the appropriate body (though the Canon 60D is quite a good choice.)