Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 29, 2011, 11:30 AM   #1

Default Superzoom cam

I would like your help to choose my new superzoom cam.
I am not a professional, and I want a camera to take photos of my family, in travels, in many different situations.
I love the macro option and zoom also.
I would like to know if it is necessary to have a tripod to shoot using the zoom in its maximum capacity.
I would like a good cam to take night images also.
I am in doubt about Fujifilm HS20, Nikon P500 or some from Panasonic.
Looking foward for the tips!
Shibuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 29, 2011, 1:58 PM   #2

I have the Panasonic FZ100 and love it. The successor to it has been released (FZ150, I believe). I wanted it mainly for the zoom (24x) and FPS (it can do 11fps @ 14 mpx for 15 frames). I wish it had an intervalometer function, but i can do that via the remote jack.
It also has some pretty good shutter speed selection, and you can force it anywhere from 1/2000 of a sec to 60 sec. It takes ok night photos, but will get some noise (I will post some if you need test images). I looked at both the Fuji and Nikon before I bought it, but eventually the FPS and megapixels got me. Plus, I couldnt afford the HS20 at the time
Macro is good, and since it has a filter mount you can get some macro filters too. I have taken 23,000 pictures with mine thus far, and have not had any problems with it yet..
Good luck!
photonerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 3:13 PM   #3

Thanks for your answer!
Do you know if using the maximum zoom it is necessary to use a tripod to have good pics? Without a tripod the picture will be blured?
Old Sep 30, 2011, 11:15 AM   #4

Depends how much Light you have, and how steady you are. I took these 2 shots yesterday in bright sunlight through a window

The first picture is at full optical zoom (plus the 8x digital that panasonic says doesn't change image quality)