Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 15, 2011, 5:32 PM   #1

Default best low light $300 range camera

I am a teacher and often take photos of school events not only in the classroom, but in churches. With that comes high ceilings. I am not a skilled photographer. What P&S will give me the best photos for the money. I recently used my sons Nikon S8100 and was pleased with the results, but overall the camera has such mixed reviews I hesitate to buy it for myself. I own a Minolta Z1, which has not done a very good job in low light situations. I picked up a Canon 2200 - it's ok, but I'm thinking I could do better for the money...
Lesajoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 15, 2011, 6:33 PM   #2

I would suggest that if you're happy with the results from the S8100- then why not go for it..! However,if you're going to be shooting indoors,maybe the Nikon P300's also worth a look- with a 24mm wide angle(ideal for interiors) and a light gathering fast f/1.8 lens(at wide angle setting). It does have full manual modes,but has your basic point and shoot options also...
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikonp300/
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 2:09 PM   #3

The Canon S95 is $319 now. The Samsung TL500 is similarly priced, but the S95 is a far better camera imho. The brighter lenses and larger sensors will give you a noticeable advantage in low light compared to the 1/2.3" sensor cams.
Old Oct 16, 2011, 11:27 PM   #4

Default thanks