Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 16, 2011, 1:08 PM   #1

Default New to DSLR.

So I've got my sights set on a d3100 and d5100. But I'm unsure of which to purchase. I have the budget for either, but don't want to spend more for the 5100 if the 3100 will yield the results.

I'm in to traveling, nature photography, being able to take quality pictures of family events, vacation, ect ect ect.

My question is..which one should I really buy? Like I said I'm new to DSLR, but I am quick to learn. I am by no means looking to become a professional but don't want to pick something up and get bored with it within a week.

I'm also open to debate between the two above and vs. Canon T2 and T3.

Thank you guys.
IggyBcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 16, 2011, 1:44 PM   #2
Super Moderator

What lenses have you looked at?

In general it's better to spend a bit more on lenses and less on the camera. The good news is that it's pretty much impossible to buy a poor DSLR these days.

I usually recommend that you buy the best equipment you can comfortably afford, this stops you from worrying that if only you had got something slightly better your photographs would improve.

Get the best you can afford then concentrate all your effort on learning photography with the equipment you have.

Did you have a total budget in mind?

Last edited by peripatetic; Oct 16, 2011 at 1:52 PM.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 2:06 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by peripatetic View Post
What lenses have you looked at?

In general it's better to spend a bit more on lenses and less on the camera. The good news is that it's pretty much impossible to buy a poor DSLR these days.

I usually recommend that you buy the best equipment you can comfortably afford, this stops you from worrying that if only you had got something slightly better your photographs would improve.