Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 17, 2011, 9:06 AM   #1

Default Digital point and shoot camera-which?

I have it narrowed down to the following cameras and could use a little help figuring out which is the best overall camera that will provide the best images in all modes (macro, zooming in/out, action, low light, high light, everything in between).

Though I'm just an amateur and shoot for fun, I really enjoy getting great quality shots out.

Canon Powershot SX150
Canon Powershot SX210
Nikon Coolpix S8200
Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS8
Olympus ZS-10
AmyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2011, 10:12 AM   #2

Nice little bunch of compacts- all probably capable of similar results across the board.
I like the Canon's image quality,which is usually up there with the best. The Nikon has no full manual modes which would be a no-no for me(but maybe not for you!).
The Panasonic's are a well put together camera and now has the full manual modes also.
The Olympus certainly has a whopper of a zoom range,yet amazingly,has the widest aperture(f/4.4) at full zoom,allowing a decent amount of light in at the long end,which should enable a faster shutter speed resulting in sharp shots. If this had manual modes it would be a major contender here- though again,this might not be an issue for you if all you want to do is "point and shoot" utilizing auto/scene modes...
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 2:31 PM   #3

Simon

I think I'll end up getting the Canon SX150. I was actually in an ebay auction for the Nikon S8200 but stopped after it went past what I wanted to purchase it for. The stores have it for 299. I found that Sams Club has the SX150 for just 208 which is great, and from what I've read it's a decent camera. Previously, I had a Kodak Easyshare Z1485 and I was pretty pleased with it for the most part. I believe the SX150 should be better than that.
AmyF is offline   Reply With Quote