Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 30, 2011, 1:14 PM   #1

Default New Canon T2i owner now need lens help

I finally got my Canon T2i with kit lens. Now I need lens help. Is there a lens that is good for pictures that are taken outside at night with little or no light at all? I am a completely newbie at this and have no idea so wanted to ask where I am sure I will find the answer.
Steph_79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 30, 2011, 1:55 PM   #2

The T2i is capable of good high ISO performance, but trying with the kit 18-55 lens is pushing it.

You can go with one of the large aperture (f/2.8) standard zoom lenses, or large aperture (f/2.0 or larger) primes like the Canon 50mm f/1.8 or 35mm f/2.0.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2011, 4:55 PM   #3

What are you trying to take pictures of at night? Knowing that will help. TCav is right that there are primes that will do the trick or Zooms that can help with framing the subject. If you are talking about landscape shots (objects sillouted agains the sky), one of the Primes would be great (My choice would be at least 35 F2 to get wide), but if you are talking about a situation where either you can't or don't want to zoom with your feet to get the subject framed right, an F2.8 zoom can help. If you want/need faster than F2.8 you will need to go prime (Fixed focal length). Steven
waoldrifleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2011, 5:11 PM   #4
Super Moderator

Generally for such conditions you need a tripod.
Old Nov 1, 2011, 11:55 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by peripatetic View Post
Generally for such conditions you need a tripod.
Very true! Steven
waoldrifleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 4:44 AM   #6