Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 10, 2011, 2:15 PM   #1

Default advice needed

I have been using a Minolta Dimage Z1 for several years. It works pretty good for closeups of jewelry etc. However, I need to know how to make it work for photographing artwork, pastel paintings, from 9" X 12" to 24" X 36" so that they can be reproduced as prints if that is possible. If not, please recommend a camera that would do both of these tasks. I take a lot of reference photos for my paintings, landscape and close-up so really need both capabilities. I would like to not see little boxes so much when I try to enlarge the close-ups for detail. Thanks a lot!
artistmolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 10, 2011, 2:48 PM   #2

The DiMAGE Z1 was a fine camera for it's day, but it only has a 3.2 megapixel image sensor. That won't give you the kind of detail you'll need to capture good images of artwork.

I think your best option is a dSLR with a good macro lens, a good tripod, and maybe even a copystand.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2011, 1:26 PM   #3

Good Morning,

You have 2 separate questions that need to be handled a bit differently from each other, however, they both can maybe handled with nearly the same equipment.

First your jewelery question. There was a similar question asked and here is the answer along with a procedure all worked out, that I believe you can follow....
Now, the jewelery aspect used a 50mm lens. The same lens could be used for your art work, but you would need to get farther away in order to be able to photography the entire range of sizes (24" X 36") - and I'll address that below.

First we need to do some math - using some on line calculators located here.....
On this page there are two calculators we need to use...
  • Dimensional Field of View Calculator
  • Depth of Field Calculator