Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 23, 2012, 8:03 AM   #1

Default upgrading from Canon G11, suggestions?

hey guys.

I studied photography, and used to do a fair amount of wildlife photography back a few years ago with a Canon 20D and an assortment of L lenses and accessories.

since then life has happened, and I had to get rid of my dSLR stuff. so I searched for the best I could get sub-dSLR and ended up with a Canon G11. it has served me well, but at this point the video capabilities (can we really call it that?) have outlived the camera.

so, what would you recommend for someone who enjoys the pros of a Canon G11 coming from the dSLR world, and now wants an upgrade?

it seems to me from my extensive reviewing that the Canon G12 isn't much of an upgrade, having the same size CCD sensor and all.

The Canon SX40 seems like a great contender with the HD video and CMOS sensor, as well as the long range zoom (I used to love it back with my dSLR, but have learned to live without it...but can get back into loving it quickly). My only concern is the size. I haven't seen it in person yet, but reviews make it out to be much bigger than the G11.

I no longer take photos professionally but I am the designated photographer at all events, parties, birthdays, get togethers, bar nights, etc. I also like to record videos of (usually dark) Rock Band parties...and the G11 is not cutting it, to say the least.

I like the small form factor of the G11 but picked it over the (even) smaller P&S cameras because I prefer a bigger sensor and stronger build quality over pocketability.

what do you suggest given the above? I hope i've been thorough enough!

thanks.

EDIT: I know I haven't posted here in several years, but the board says last visit was in 1970? haha time travel? I wasn't born till '87 :-p

Last edited by Max_Pain; Jan 23, 2012 at 8:11 AM.
Max_Pain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 23, 2012, 8:45 AM   #2