Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 19, 2012, 10:32 AM   #1

Default Best Camera For Quality Image Cropping

I'm new to superzoom cameras. I especially like photographing birds and have gotten a few decent shots, although I know they could be improved. There are times when I want to crop out all but the head and shoulders but I lose detail and sharpness. I have used a Canon SX150is set at the highest resolution. They were shot through a window, though. I just bought a Lumix DMC-FZ47 hoping to improve the crop quality. What mode is best for using the zoom and then possibly wanting to crop? Or should I look at buying another camera? I really don't want a DSLR. Your suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by jjgirard; Feb 19, 2012 at 10:53 AM.
jjgirard is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 19, 2012, 11:02 AM   #2

Shooting through a window is never very good for image quality as it's poor quality glass with lots of imperfections. There are also excessive reflections because of the uncoated surfaces. Try shooting your tests with nothing between the camera and the subject before buying a new camera.
Bob Nichol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 12:07 PM   #3

Thanks for your comment. Here's s shot I took through a window using Canon SX150is. It's the only way I can get close enough. I read where there's a filter I could get for the FZ47 for taking photos through glass. The main thing I want info about is what settings to use to get the best shots so that I might be able to crop.

Old Feb 19, 2012, 12:21 PM   #4

The best way to "get close" would be to have as much zoom as possible(optical) in the first place.. reducing the need to crop.
Canon SX30/40 has 840mm,the Nikon P500 has 810mm and the new 510 has 1000mm..!!
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 12:43 PM   #5