Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 4, 2012, 12:26 AM   #1

Default Will the AF in the 5D Mark III be identical with the AF in the Canon 1DX???

Will the AF in the Canon 1Dx be identical with the AF in the Canon 5D Mark III I know it will be similar 61 point AF system but will it be identical?

If yes, why would most of us buy the Canon 1Dx for twice as much? I know the canon frame rate is much higher (faster) but I don't see too much difference between the two cameras which would justify me to spend twice as much for a camera...? I am a wedding photographer and I don't use the video capabilities and I don't really need the high frame rate, either.
What I need is fast and accurate focusing... It is hard to believe that the autofocus in the Canon 5D Mark III will be identical with the one Canon builds into the Canon 1Dx...

I am hesitant to pre-order it... Should I pre-order it??? I am willing to buy only it if it is exactly the same!

Any toughs?
Old Mar 4, 2012, 5:24 AM   #2

This is what dp review has to say on the matter...

"The EOS 5D Mark III utilises the same 61-point wide-area AF system as the flagship EOS-1D X, providing exceptional sensitivity, precision and speed. One of the most advanced AF systems currently available, it features an impressive 41 cross-type points and five dual cross-type points, providing unsurpassed accuracy across the frame. The customisable AF pre-sets introduced in the EOS-1D X are also available, helping the capture of traditionally challenging subjects, and providing additional reliability in ituations where subject movement can be unpredictable."

They use the word "same",not similar- so I guess it could well be identical...
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 2:48 AM   #3
Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by miami photographer View Post
I am hesitant to pre-order it... Should I pre-order it??? I am willing to buy only it if it is exactly the same!