Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 27, 2012, 10:59 AM   #1

Default Almost as fast as dSLR

Hi,
I want a digital camera with a very fast response time. I am not just talking about shutter speed, I mean the entire process, from when I push the button to when the sensors have completely rendered the picture. I currently own an SLR film camera. I have always been reluctant to change to a digital camera, because I hate the response time. I don't care about seeing the picture right then, I just like to be able to push the button, and take a photo right then. I enjoy taking lots of good photos when traveling, but I leave the SLR on auto mode, and sometimes switch through its various other auto modes (scenery, close ups, etc.) I'm not a pro by any standard, I might fiddle with the manual settings occasionally, but nothing serious. I recently tried out the Panasonic Lumix GF2 and GF3, and they were the first digital, non-dSLR camera I have ever used that had an acceptable response time. I don't want to fork out the money for a dSLR, but I can do the $400 that GF2 costs. My number one priority by a large margin is just response time, and my budget is ~$400. What camera should I buy?
Thanks
Alex
earlingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 27, 2012, 3:13 PM   #2

To be honest,unless you require VERY high burst speeds- pretty much any DSLR today should give you enough response.
Auto-focusing is swift(though naturally,some better than others)- as is shutter response- and the mirror business is much the same as an old film camera(assuming you want a DSLR and not a mirrorless system).
A quick clearing buffer,enabling you to take another shot when YOU require,generally improves as the price goes up- much like anything in life... many having more than one processor on board..!