Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 28, 2012, 7:34 PM   #1

Default Stop me if you've heard this before - which camera should I buy?

Hello,
I am in the market for a point and shoot digital camera. My main complain with all of my digi cameras thus far are blurry (action) photos. I'm not a pro and don't need a camera for anything other than casual, social events. I am HOPING to find a digi camera for around $200 and works well for action, higher movement photos (bbq's, parties, sporting events, etc.).

Is it a pipe dream to expect to find a camera that handles action photos well for around $200? I don't need a big zoom function or any bells and whistles.

Any recommendations?

Much love!
-N
Newbsnewby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 29, 2012, 12:31 AM   #2

if the shutter speed and iso can be manually adjusted on a camera, chances are you can get better pics. if you're talking daytime outdoor sports, a faster shutter speed will freeze the action for you. if you're talking indoor or nighttime, a lot of newer cameras have handheld night modes. and if the blur is from hand shake rather than motion shake, image stabilization will help.

have you checked out the canon sx230 and sx260, as well as the sx150? also if you don't need much zoom, i suggest trying the canon sd400, which has a lens that takes in more light than most cameras in its size and price range.
pcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 6:22 AM   #3

As pcake says- full manual modes- necessary to keep shutter speeds high- as opposed to an auto "sports" scene mode- will fare much better. Also- a camera with fast autofocus will help massively- and is arguably the most important factor of all when shooting moving subjects. This is where Panasonic leads the way....
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 12:12 PM   #4

Thank you for the replies! I will definitely check those recommendations out!