Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 30, 2012, 12:10 PM   #1

Default DSLR for shooting video?

Oh hello! I'm looking for a new camera that can shoot great video. I'll be shooting footage quite close (Around 4-9 inches) away from the lenses) and will also need an external mic jack. Are there any cameras out there that fit the bill for around $1000 or less? I'm very new to this type of thing and have never used a DSLR before. Thank you.
acuriousman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 30, 2012, 12:24 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome to Steve's as I see this is your first post here.

I'd give members a better idea of the type of subject you want to shoot and the conditions you want to shoot in for better responses.

For one thing, why would you need to shoot from 4 to 9 inches away? That poses issues of it's own. For one thing, most kit lenses won't be able to focus that close (so, you'd be looking at more specialized macro lenses or adapter setups to get that close).

Trying to shoot from that close also causes problems with lighting (with the lens/camera blocking it and causing shadows, etc. -- not to mention spooking the subjects).

So, it's usually better to shoot from further away with a longer focal length. For example, if you're trying to fill the frame with a subject size several inches across, you may be able to shoot from a foot or so away with a 50mm lens, or get the same framing from a couple of feet away with a 100mm lens, or 4 feet away with a 200mm lens, etc.

I'd give more information on exactly what type of subject you want to shoot and the conditions you're shooting in so that you get better informed responses on what may work better for you.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 11:24 AM   #3