Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 18, 2012, 5:31 PM   #1

Default Rainproof DSLR recommendation/comparision?

Hi all,

I have been using my Panasonic FZ-30 for a long long time and now decided to jump into the DSLR world. I am looking to buy a mid-range DSLR.
I live in Seattle, it rains a lot here and I will be shooting outdoor a lot so a rainproof setting is quite important for me.
I am now checking out the Pentax K5 (for obvious reason) and Nikon D7000.
I really like the K5 for it's well proven rainproof ability, and it's comparatively compact body with tons of features. However, I know finding good and economical lens will be comparatively difficult for this camera. Also, I've heard that multiple external flash synchronization will not be as straight forward as on the Nikon.

I am a newbie when it comes to DSLR.
Please help me out here. Which one of these 2 is better for me, or can anyone recommend me something else that is also rainproof?
misbehave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 18, 2012, 6:49 PM   #2

I would hesitate to call the Nikon D7000 rainproof. From the Nikon D7000 User's Manual:
Quote:
This product is not waterproof, and may malfunction if immersed in water or exposed to high levels of humidity.
If you're serious about this, I'd say your camera choice was limited to teh K-5 and your lens choices were limited to the Pentax WR (water resistant) line.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 7:33 PM   #3

Although not a D-SLR I have been very impressed with my Panasonic Lumix DMC TS3 (their is a TS4 version out now). It has a lot of control over the image settings. I have been using it since mid March and loving it. Used in a heavy snow and heavy rain and it would flawlessly.