Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 23, 2012, 11:19 AM   #1

Default A replacement for Olympus C-770

In 2004, I bought my first digital camera which was an Olympus C-770. Since then I have evaluated three cameras as possible replacements Cannon SX 10IS, Cannon SD 4500IS and Olympus SZ 30. None of these give the clarity and sharpness of the C-770 image. My basic test is to photograph the neighbour's house down the road with the camera under evaluation and with the C-770 under exactly the same conditions and see how clearly I can read the number over the door.
Basically, I want a point and shoot with 10X optical zoom about the size and weight of the C-770. However, I do not want to keep running to the store, then having to return the camera because it does not measure up. I'm not a techie, but if I knew what were the characteristics in terms of lens, processor or sensor or whatever to look for to reproduce the superb image quality of the C-770, it would be a help. I still use the C-770 for travel photography, but the downside is the ISO limit of 400.
Any suggestions?
Chancton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 23, 2012, 12:53 PM   #2

Interestingly- your C-770's size (not compact by today's standards) enabled it to have a fast F/2.8-3.7 lens which no doubt helped in some regards IQ- an aperture range not available in today's 10x and above "high zoom" compacts- due to their "bijou" proportions and slightly bigger sensors (a tiddly 1/2.7" in the C-770).
A couple which are close in physical size to the C-770 is Olympus's own SP-610 and 620- and Nikon's own L110/120.
Both of those,however,are primarily auto "point and shoots" with few image parameter adjustments- and both run on AA batteries- which may or may not be an issue for you.

In terms of image quality- two decent high zoom compacts are Canon's SX240 (260 if you want GPS) and Panasonic's TZ25 (ZS15 in the USA).