Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 22, 2012, 10:09 PM   #1

Default Need an inexpensive point & shoot for eBay...

Preferably in the $100 or so price range, give or take about 20 bucks. I have been using my old Fuji S5000 for about 10 years, but it's starting to not like to focus in macro mode anymore. I sell music instruments and related items on eBay, so I need something with a decent macro mode. I will be putting some money back this fall to purchase a more serious camera, but I need something to get me by until then. Doesn't really need much for zoom, just decent glass capable of taking real clear shots in macro in case I want to take a close up of a serial number or something like that. Only retailer in my town without driving about 40 minutes is Walmart. They have a couple Fuji models in this price range, but they also have a Panasonic LS6, which runs on AA batteries, which is a bonus for me since I already have quite a few of them for my old Fuji camera. Any suggestions for cameras in this price range? I haven't really followed what's popular for a couple years.
Guitarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 22, 2012, 11:27 PM   #2

Take a look at the Canon ELPH 100 HS. It's going for $ 120 at Amazon and other online retailers. Seems to be the best camera in the sub-$120 segment. Or at least the only one with image stabilization and 3 cm or better macro focusing.
city_zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 10:44 AM   #3

I went in Walmart friday evening to tell a customer of mine who works there that I had his guitar repair done, since they don't like you calling employees at our local Walmart, even if you just want to leave them a simple message, and they had brought out a table of clearance cameras. I found a Canon ELPH 300HS marked down to $99.00. It's a lot different than what I was used to using, but it seems to take great pictures, and the price was pretty unbeatable....