Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 2, 2012, 10:30 AM   #1

Default camera/lens to photograph small paintings

Hello, I am an artist and need a better digital camera to photograph my small paintings and drawings. They range in size from 12 x 15 inches to about 5 x 7 inches. They are very finely detailed and very subtle in color and value gradations. Some of them can be quite dark, while the drawings are very light. (A photograph of a painting is attached). My current GE point and shoot camera doesn't capture the work well, so I need a camera that is much more sensitive and maybe a special macro lens. I photograph the work in excellent natural light and use a copystand. I wouldn't use the camera for anything else, so I don't need extra features like video, panorama, etc. I've been looking at used cameras and would like to spend around $500, although I realize that if I need a macro lens I would have to spend more (if it makes a great difference, I definitely would). So...what would be the ideal combination of camera and lens? I would appreciate any advice.

Last edited by ingriste; Jul 4, 2012 at 9:12 PM.
ingriste is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 2, 2012, 5:37 PM   #2

I would go with a Sony A37 and a Sigma 70mm f/2.8 Macro lens.

The Sony uses the same 16MP image sensor used in their A57 and several earlier models, as well as Nikon's D7000 and D5100 and the Pentax K-5. The Sony A37 uses an electronic viewfinder instead of an optical viewfinder, so it always has a clear, bright view of the subject under any lighting conditions. It also has a tilting 'Live View' LCD Monitor, making it easier to use with your copystand.

The Sigma 70mm f/2.8 Macro is probably as good a macro lens as you will find from any manufacturer, and is a good focal length to use on your copystand.

Last edited by TCav; Jul 2, 2012 at 5:42 PM.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2012, 11:48 AM   #3