Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 2, 2012, 1:32 PM   #1

Default Need help with DSLR choice

I am somewhat new to the camera world. I have used a Canon t3i and really like it but am not sure what I should buy at this point. I am interested maunly in shooting pictures of my kids swimming and after that family photos. My budget is about 800. I was looking for a while at getting a t3i bundle with the 18-55mm lens and a 75-300 usm lense to go along with it. Then I talked to someone who told me not to waste my money on the 18-55 and just get a faster (f1.4 or f2.8) 50mm lense. I know that I will have some trouble shooting indoors swimming with the 75-300 but want something to at lease get started with as I do not want to drop 1500 on an f2.8 zoom lense. ANy help is greatly appreciated.
pharmacist25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 2, 2012, 5:14 PM   #2

I would say that the Canon 18-55 is about as good a kit lens as there is, if you can handle the relatively small aperture at the long end.

But since you're starting from scratch, there's no reason to immediately settle for a Canon. The key issue is which system will have the lenses you need to get the results you want. I think a large aperture, medium telephoto lens for your indoor sports (swimming) would be a better idea than the 75-300 (which isn't a very good choice, whatever you'd be shooting.) Everybody makes a 70-200mm f/2.8 lens which should do well, but they can be very expensive. Canon also makes a 70-200mm f/4.0 which you might be able to get away with. Tamron makes a 70-200/2.8 that's pretty good, for $769, but it's not stabilized, which is something you should consider given what you'd be shooting.