Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 12, 2012, 5:07 PM   #1

Default Houston birder

I am an amateur birder and want to take bird photos for identification purposes. I don't intend to publish / sell photos. I have past (old) experience with 35mm Canon with telephoto & wide angle lens.

I am considering the purchase of a Canon Rebel T3i body & Canon 70-300L lens to use for this purpose. Is this overkill or adequate?

As a much cheaper alternative, could the Nikon Coolpix P150 (42X) be used for this purpose?
RalphS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 13, 2012, 2:59 AM   #2

You might want to try posting on the What Camera Should I Buy forum. You'll probably get more attention.

It seems to me that to get a good shot of a small bird even at 50-60' takes more like 600-1000mm in 35mm terms.

I'm not sure which would be better. The speed of the dslr or the reach of the superzoom. Or maybe split the difference with an OMD-EM5 and 75-300 or GH2 with a 100-300. Either would be quick and have the extended teleconverter to get to 1200mm. Each would reach 600mm equivalent as native.

Some of the superzooms, like the Panasonic FZ150 have ultra high speed bursts that can freeze a hummingbird in motion if you can track them.

You really should ask on a forum where you can get another opinion. I'm just guessing. I've never really taken an interest in birds.
BBbuilder467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 7:02 AM   #3
Administrator

I moved to thread for you What Camera Should I Buy? so that it will more likely get some responses

BTW, Welcome to Steve's
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 8:34 AM   #4